CEHS faculty, staff honored at convening university awards

Wednesday 14 December 2022

Media contact: Kirsi McDowell | Senior Communications Specialist | 405-744-9347 | [email protected]

Ten faculty members and staff from Oklahoma State University’s College of Education and Human Sciences received university-wide recognition at the 2022 University Awards convocation on December 8.

President Kayse Shrum and OSU Provost Dr. Jeanette Mendez presented the recipients with awards for teaching, service and contribution to their respective colleges and university.

dr Ki Cole from the School of Educational Foundations, Leadership and Aviation received the Distinguished Early Career Faculty Award. As an Associate Professor of Research, Evaluation, Measurement and Statistics, Dr. Cole focuses primarily on item response theory (IRT), factor analysis, equating test scores, developing and scoring tests and surveys, and evaluating statistical software.

dr Tilanka Chandrasekera of the Department of Design and Merchandising received the Regents Distinguished Research Award, which recognizes faculty who have made exceptionally significant contributions to their research area. With a background in architecture, Dr. Chandrasekera courses in interior design and was nominated for his ongoing work in the Mixed Reality Lab.

dr Sam Emerson, Associate Professor of Nutrition Sciences, received the Regents Distinguished Teaching Award after having demonstrated exceptionally significant achievements in teaching students over a long number of years. dr Emerson has helped leads the development of the Laboratory for Applied Nutrition and Exercise Science (LANES), a space designed for clinical research involving humans, usually in the context of nutrition and exercise science.

dr Lucy Bailey was presented with the Women’s Faculty Council’s Inspiring Excellence Award for Outstanding Achievement and Mentorship by Women. dr Bailey is a Faculty of Social Foundations and Qualitative Research and OSU Director of Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies. This award is presented to faculty that have made significant contributions to research, scholarship, and/or creative work and have a proven track record of encouraging, mentoring, and nurturing women to professional success.

READ :  Full / Associate / Assistant Professor in Economics job with UNIVERSITY OF MACAU

dr Greg Clare was recognized for his recent appointment as the Carol Dewitt Morsani Endowed Professor of Design for his ongoing work in the areas of lighting design and consumer behavior, particularly for the aging community. Professor of Nutritional Sciences, Dr. Daniel Lin, was honored with the John and Sue Taylor Professorship in Human-Environmental Sciences for his continued education Nutrition and metabolism courses for undergraduate and graduate students. Newly appointed chair and professorship holders were awarded medallions.

The Academic Excellence in Evaluating Academic Programs Award was presented to Amy Birchfield, Dr. Alana Cluck and Dr. Tyler Kane from OSU’s RN-to-BSN online nursing degree program. This award recognizes academic program evaluation individuals or teams who demonstrate innovation, excellence, and dedication to planning, reporting, and implementing evaluation of program outcomes.

Michelle Crew, Senior Academic Advisor at the College of Education and Human Sciences Student Success Center, received the Advising Excellence Award for Outstanding Academic Guidance from Faculty and Staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *